Boys Will Be Boys

During my junior year of college, I volunteered for a week as a boys’ summer camp counselor.  I don’t think I slept a wink — I was chased around with a frog, squirted with multiple water guns and partook in never-ending negotiations when it came to bath time and naptime.  After the week was over, I promised myself I would never do it again.  It was one of those once in a lifetime kind of experiences.  From now on, I told myself, I will stick to dress-up, fairy tales and baby dolls.

However, two weekends ago, I found myself back in summer camp.  But this time was different – I was actually excited; I willingly volunteered, much to my own surprise.  Two fellow Peace Corps volunteers organized a camping trip as a special treat for the children living at a nearby boys’ home.  I merely tagged along to help where I could, play until I was exhausted, and give some much needed lovin’.

So, off we went, up the mountain – no power, no running water, twenty-five boys, four PCV’s and two staff members from the home.

Here are just a few highlights from our action-packed venture:

 

Are we there yet?!

My buddy -- insisting on carrying my bag up the mountain

Serra Malagueta, you are a beauty

Halfway there!

A new meaning of cold -- bundled up in 70 degree weather! Sweatshirts, blankets and coats!

From egg cartons to caterpillars in under 30 minutes...

3 hours later than planned and 3 hitchhikers more than we bargained for, we made it -- with lunch and birthday cake in hand. Quite the story for another day...

This entry was posted in Day to Day. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Boys Will Be Boys

  1. Steve Pierce says:

    Looks like a fun trip. I am always amazed at all you do and very proud of you.

Leave a Reply

