It Takes Root

I haven’t blogged in a few weeks because I wasn’t sure what to say, or how to say it.  I wasn’t sure if I even wanted to say it.  However, it’s a part of my reality, of living in a foreign country, of standing out wherever I go, of trying to fit in but never looking the part.

Just when I was starting to feel at home here, it happened.  I was robbed at knifepoint a few weeks ago.   It’s unfair how a few seconds can rob you of your security – security built over time, places, experiences and people.  In a few seconds, it’s gone — abruptly taken by one person, one incident.  I’m still trying to shake off all those emotions that go along with it – anger, sadness, longing for familiarity, frustration.

There is no worse feeling than not being able to communicate what you want to say when you need to say it.  As I stood crying, gasping for air, attempting to communicate exactly what happened to me, all that came were tears and a few disconnected words.  As a result of this casobodi (cash or body), my eyes have been opened to an entirely new world that remains unseen to the majority of the population — trying to communicate with police in a foreign language, dealing with an organization without adequate resources, power outages resulting in multiple trips to the police station, attempting to recreate lost items in a timely manner, unfair judicial system and nonsensical procedures…

I’m seeing it all — from healthcare to education to judicial procedures.  It’s not just unclean water, it’s no access to a doctor.  It’s not just one unqualified teacher, it’s years of knowledge and development lost.  It’s not just a lack of fruit and vegetables, it’s lack of information about vitamins and nutrients.  It extends so much further than pictures can capture, or sporadic visits can observe.  It’s deep, it’s cyclical, and it takes root.

This entry was posted in Lost in Translation. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It Takes Root

  1. REBrown says:

    I’m glad you’re okay! Dealing with all that stuff sounds super frustrating but you can’t have the flowers without the rain.

  2. Steve Pierce says:

    Dear Krista,
    You have been on my mind lately. I did notice that you had not added an entry on your blog in a while. I am so sorry to hear of your ordeal. I am glad you are OK, but I feel for you having all the added frustrations that stem from an inadequate justice system. The U.S. justice system and law enforcement is often maligned here in the States, but it is better than most.

    I know this incident has shaken you, but remember all the good and decent people you have met and work with and teach. Every society has members who take advantage of other people and break the law. I hope you will soon see past this incident and are comfortable in Cape Verdan society again. Do be careful; just as you would in any other place.

    Continued prayers for you safety and well-being.

    Much Love,
    M. P

  3. I am simply heartbroken reading this post today.Your life has just changed. You have been robbed of your sense of security. I am praying that the Peace Corp is serving you physically and emotionally. I am praying for you to be able to sleep so you can physically handle your long days. I am so sorry this happened to you. Do not be afraid to be proactive about whatever your mind calls you to do. Be vigilant and not worry about others feelings at this stressful time. Follow your heart. God Bless you. Valerie

  4. Madeleine says:

    Krista,

    I almost started crying when I read this. I’m so glad to know that you are okay. I feel bad that I am reading this almost a month after you posted it. Hopefully this doesn’t ever happen again– whether you are abroad or in the states. It happens on our home turf too.

    Love you and miss you,

    Madeleine

  5. Donna Shook says:

    My dearest Krista,
    I have beaten back the strong desire to get on a plane and come get you, so now I will simply say I love you and I am so thankful that your physical body is OK. Whether there or here, there are mean people, desperate people, in the world who take evil action that darkens one’s ability to see the majority of good; it robs you of the ability to relax and trust the world in which you live. If I could erase this from your experience, I would. But instead I will pray for God to open your eyes and your heart little by little so that you can see the goodness of God in your everyday so the darkness and distrust will finally dissipate, and the lessons you learned in the process will fuel your passion for love, honesty, action, and positive change no matter how small you may perceive it to be. You are a brave, formidable woman who has a mighty God living in you. Therefore, I trust you will be exactly who God made you to be and to do, equipped with a little more wisdom. I entrusted you to God when you left that States, I am doing that again this day. I love you dearly.

    Donna

  6. Ashley Turner says:

    I’m so glad you are ok Krista! I can’t imagine how scary and frustrating that must have been. Sorry for the late comment…I was checking your blog almost everyday for a long time, but a lot has happened this summer, so now I am catching up 🙂 I am so proud of what you have accomplished and really look up to you for your courage to have such an experience. My prayers are with you for your safety and happiness.

    Ashley Robinson Turner

Leave a Reply

