Food for the Soul and Body

No matter where we are in the world, no matter how old or young we may be, our favorite foods bring a sense of comfort.  When I’m missing home, I like to make something that reminds me of America — the smell and taste instantly conjures up memories of home.

I’m always looking for tasty, simple recipes that I can recreate here.  I can only eat so much rice.  It’s more difficult than you would imagine — finding substitutes, omitting ingredients, adjusting measurements, etc.  However, thanks to a random shipment of “health food” I was able to find quinoa at the local grocery store.  And of course, I bought it!  As a vegetarian, it’s equally difficult to find good recipes that aren’t full of meat, but full of protein and iron.  That’s why quinoa is perfect…

The recipes makes ten, small burgers

If you don’t know much about quinoa, here are a few of its benefits:

-provides complete protein, including all 9 essential amino acids

-a good source of magnesium, folate and phosphorous

-provides antioxidant protection

It’s especially great for people who are prone to migraines.  Who knew?

Yesterday, I experimented with a recipe for quinoa burgers and today, I’m enjoying the leftovers!  If I can make it here, you can most definitely make it at home.  Bon appetit!

Quinoa burger with a yogurt ranch dip

This entry was posted in Day to Day. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Food for the Soul and Body

  1. Tamora Cook says:

    Sounds great. I printed the recipe out and I’m going to try it. We sure miss you.

  2. REBrown says:

    Yum yum! I told the “what do you call a guy with no arms and no legs in a pile of leaves” joke today and thought about you!

  3. Valerie says:

    Quinoa is amazing. There is also a red quinoa. I have never made burgers but am now going to try. I like it cold. I make up the typical 2 cup batch and add cucumber, tomatoes or any of your favorite vegetables. Right before I serve it (or an individual serving) I add olive oil and some sea salt. You can make it into a winter soup by adding vegetable broth and your favorite vegetables. The biggest reason I eat alot of quinoa is I am now gluten free AND the high protein count makes it a great “meal”. I read that quinoa acts as a prebiotic that feeds the good bacteria in your intestines. 🙂 That is great you were able to find it in Cape Verde!

Leave a Reply

