Back to Basics

Fruit Salad

One week of eating real foods is complete; now, three more weeks to go!  So far, so good…I feel better, and surprisingly, I’m enjoying spending more time in the kitchen and browsing for ingredients.

Tomato and Cucumber Salad (with an addition of cabbage and onions)

I started off the week making sure I had lots of snacks, and fresh foods available.  I’m a snacker.  Having pre-made salads available helped keep me happy and satisfied.

Whole Wheat Banana Bread

You’ll see some of my meals below.  If you would like the recipe, just click on the picture. In some cases, I had to modify the recipe but all is well that ends well.

Pumpkin Oatmeal, with a dash of cinnamon and honey

Spinach Quiche, made with local eggs and goat cheese

Refried beans with a sprinkle of goat cheese

I love refried beans!  They are great mixed with rice and an egg, or between two slices of bread for lunch.

Stuffed Quinoa Tomatoes

You can add anything to these tomatoes; next time, I’m thinking more vegetables.  You can also use peppers instead of tomatoes.

Pumpkin Spaghetti with Spinach and Goat Cheese

Pasta, as long as it’s wheat pasta, is great on those nights when you are tired, or do not have a lot of time to cook.  The possibilities are endless, and it will be ready in a jiffy!  Sweet potatoes are also a great option, if you have time but no energy.  Just pop them in the oven and you’ve got a tasty meal that satisfies any sweet tooth.

Bon appetit! Happy International Women’s Day!

This entry was posted in Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back to Basics

  1. randy pool says:

    I like the quich and the banana bread. Making me hungry. Going to the Y and will call after. Love , Dad

  2. REBrown says:

    These meals look delish!

Leave a Reply

