Fashionably Unfashionable

Before coming to Cape Verde, I was anxious about leaving all my stuff behind, all the comforts of life.  It may sound silly, but it’s true.  I wondered if I could survive without a washing machine, a microwave, a refrigerator, running water…you get the picture.

And I’ve found, after two years, I actually enjoy being self-reliant.  There’s nothing quite like it.   It’s nice to know that I can wash clothes by hand; I don’t have to have a washing machine (although if someone offered me one today, I would gladly accept it).  I can cook my own food, without a recipe or boxed ingredients.  I can take a shower with a bucket of water and come out just as clean as a long, hot shower.

I own no high heels.  I’ve worn the same clothes for two years straight.  My make-up consists of a tube of mascara.  I do not own a hair straightener, curling iron, or hair dryer.  I can pack a bag for a week in a book bag and have clothes to spare.  I have two pairs of shoes I wear on a regular basis.  I wash my hair once a week.  I can take a shower in 3 minutes and be ready in 5 minutes.

I’m afraid that when I return to America, all this will change.  I will pack half my closet to go on vacation for a week.  I don’t want to rely on things for comfort or happiness.  I like knowing that I don’t need a lot of things to be happy.  I like knowing I don’t need a washing machine, rather I need a bar of soap and a little bit of water.  I like not owning a television and visiting with friends instead.  I like that I know how to flush a toilet with a bucket of water.

I am not worried about up-and-coming fashions, or new gadgets…I don’t even know what they are, and I wouldn’t know how to use them.   But most of all, I like that I’ve replaced these things, these material goods, with an abundance of people, memories and experiences that never go out of style.

This entry was posted in Richly Simple. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fashionably Unfashionable

  1. Anne Taylor Murray says:

    You inspire me! I am so proud of you!

Leave a Reply

