When there is no fix

Electricity — In America, it’s something you never think about.  When you turn on a light, it’s on, and it stays on.   This weekend, we had a citywide blackout for fifteen hours.  The electric company gave no reason, notice, or apology for this blackout.

The lights go out almost every day, without a moment’s notice, and they return in the same manner, spontaneous and illogical.  There is no schedule, no notices, no planning ahead.  Prior blackouts have left me in the middle of printing an exam, with half sentences and a blank page.  It has left me in the shower, surrounded by darkness.

Another day without electricity -- taken by Brendan Fitzgibbons, a fellow PCV

Over and over again I become frustrated because there is nothing I can do about it.  When the city runs out of water, there is nothing I can do but wait.  When the city has a blackout, there is nothing I can do but wait.  Instance after instance I find myself with no control, only a feeling of helplessness and frustration.

It’s something every Peace Corps Volunteer learns to deal with.  The idea that there is nothing you can do, no matter how frustrated you become, no matter how much you scream or cry, there is still nothing you can do.  You must make the best of it.  In the past, when I had a problem I could get it fixed, or fix it myself immediately.  You call the right person, and it’s fixed within hours.

When I miss my family, I must find a way to deal with it.  When I am craving cheesy breadsticks, I deal with it.  When I see stray dog after stray dog, I deal with it.  When I see children on the streets, I deal with it.  It’s the first time in my life when there isn’t a quick fix, if there’s any fix at all.

Sometimes all you can do is all you can do.  The difficult part is realizing, and accepting, this fact.


This entry was posted in Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When there is no fix

  1. Jon E. Berg says:

    Wait until you come home and a close friend complains that you have to wait 12 min for the next Metro train… after a unannounced 5 hour plane delay or 2 hours of volta-ing in a Hiace, it really can’t compare. :{ Miss you!

  2. Debra Sellars says:

    Hi Krista! I have been following your blog and enjoy your postings. I am so proud of you for following your dream. Just wanted you to know that I have been thinking about you!

  3. KP says:

    It’s so great to hear from you! You made my day 🙂 You are one of the people who inspired me to go for my dreams and I thank you for that! How are you doing?

Leave a Reply

