Go with all your heart

I can’t believe it.  I don’t want to admit it to myself, or anyone else for that matter.  It makes me nauseous to think about it.  Here it goes…I only have three more months in Cape Verde.  Three months that I plan to chock full of overdue visits to friends, mentors and family; three months of cachupa, fresh fish, and doce di papaya; three months of somehow trying to make sense of leaving this place that has crept into my being and stolen my heart.

Here’s to making one ending just another beginning —

Papa Pool visits CV
Parti di nha familia di Cabo Verde e Merka

Climbing the volcano on the island of Fogo
Subi di vulkon na Fogo

Not one but TWO successful Carnavals!
Brinka na rua pa Carnaval

Sharing in the celebration of newborn babies, baptisms, weddings and all that’s in between.
Nha novu sobrinhu, Lucas e fofu di mas

Cachupa and lasagna — exchanging American and Cape Verdean cultures
A partilia di cultural di Merka e Cabo Verde

Showing off our recycled wallets at the summer camp
Cartera di resikladu

This entry was posted in Day to Day. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Go with all your heart

  1. Catherine says:

    Hi Krista, I’m a friend of Lauren Mathena and enjoy reading your blog. How did you make the recycled wallets? In a few months, I’ll head to Burundi to be the education director at a small NGO. Perhaps we should do the same project!

  2. KP says:

    Hi Catherine! Send me your email address and I’ll send you a pamphlet with directions. It’s super easy and you only need a few materials. Congrats on your new position 🙂 It sounds fantastic!

  3. Steve Pierce says:

    Dear Krista,
    You have definitely made a mark in CV. What a positive influence you have been on the people you have met there, and what an inspiration to all who know and love you. I know there will be many bittersweet days ahead as September approaches, and many reunions here in the States when you return. Like Mary, you can “ponder them in your heart” and keep them forever. I know you will find a way to return to CV in the future. You know I am proud of you, and by the way, the world map rocks! You will be remembered in CV for may things, especially giving them the world!
    Much Love,
    Mr. P

  4. norma lewis says:

    Krista, I know you have had the time of your life and more! I am so proud of you and I know you will leave with a heavy heart, but a happy one. The experience and all the love and friends you developed will go with you! Most importantly what you gave to this country will fullfill your heart FOREVER! I pray for safe travels and a new beginning somewhere else.. God Bless you sweet girl!
    Love you,
    Norma Lewis

  5. REBrown says:

    I can’t wait until you come home! But I’m sure the Cape Verdeans will miss you dearly.

Leave a Reply

